Need advise on my approach with UnPn

Sep 5, 2011 at 6:19 PM

Dear all,

I need to build a Windows touch application which is capable of receiving pictures from a device like a Camera(compatible DLNA/Unpn) or Iphone using the ImediaShare server App.
The idea is from a connected device though Wifi, beeing able to receive selected pictures from a server into the application.

As I am not an expert in UnPn and DLNA, I am looking for a simple lib which could turn my touch application as a listner for such device.

Does this ManagedUpnP can help me reach that goal ?

Is it smple to integrate in my app ?

Is tehre clear sample on how device gets recognised and could communicate wth my app and exchange data?

Thanks for help and advise

Sep 5, 2011 at 6:33 PM

I have download the code and run the sample but do not understand how to use it to integrate it in my own application.

Could you explain a bit please ?

regards

serge

Coordinator
Sep 7, 2011 at 5:54 AM
Edited Sep 7, 2011 at 6:27 AM

Serge,

This library allows you to perform the discovery and communication with devices at the UPnP level, so yes it will help you connect to the device via the UPnP protocol, query the device and then you will need to write the code connect using the DLNA protocol to get the pictures. However, the library does assume that you have a basic knowledge about how the UPnP protocol works, ie, what a Service is, what a Device is, and how they are identified. For information on this check out the UPnP website:

http://www.upnp.org/

Specifically these documents:

http://upnp.org/sdcps-and-certification/standards/device-architecture-documents/

Reading these documents will give you a better undestanding of the underlying technologies anyway, so its a good idea, but all you really need to know is what a device and service is and how they are identified.